1) Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise? 


My object for the class was a water bottle. Over the exercise, I feel it could be a dumbbell. Since its shape is designed for holding and I can adjust the weight by filling with different amount of water. People carry it everywhere. It is a handy tool for taking exercise.

2) Given that affordances are a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise. 


The shape of the water bottle is designed for holding with five fingers. I tape up my four fingers and trying to hold the water bottle. I can still hold it but just not very stable. Then, I wrapped the water bottle with paper, so that its shape has been changed. I tried to grab it again with my taped fingers. I found I couldn’t do that.

The affordance is the cue of interacting a product. A designer needs to analyze the capability of users and manipulate the affordance to assist the user. Without understanding the user’s ability, the affordance may fail since the user can’t do what they should do. Without manipulating the affordance also a disaster since the users will never know how to use the product.

