1) Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise? 


  • The object I chose for this exercise was a pen. Traditionally, a pen is used for writing, sketching and other such activities. As the exercise proceeded, I realized that a pen, with the right shape and dimensions can also be substituted for chopsticks. Not only that, the ‘chopstick-pen’ was also then used as a poking device.

2) Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise. 


  • The manipulation technique I used for this tutorial was being physically restricted. Typically, a pen needs the help of the thumb when using, I decided to tape up my thumbs and try using the pen to write. It was clearly a disaster when writing a few words. On the other hand, when I applied the same restrictions to the above-mentioned ‘chopstick-pen’ poking device to type on my laptop, it wasn’t as hard anymore. I think all objects could possibly have uses other than what they were designed for, it takes a few alterations and restrictions for a user to run their imagination wild and come up with other possibilities.

