1) How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy? 


  • It’s not easy for me to go to extremes on demand, it makes me quite uncomfortable as I like moderation in everything. However, for the few moments that I did go extreme, it quickened the thought process in my mind thus allowing me to explore remote grounds and untouched ideas. As a designer in today’s ever changing and innovative world, it is important to be able to think outside the box. I however, would reserve this technique for rare moments when I really need them – I do not want to over-use and exhaust the hidden creative juices in my mind.

2) Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members? 


  • Yes of course, I think a great idea is born, developed and executed not just by a light-bulb moment, but through a concoction of everyone’s creativity. Everyone’s creativity comes to light through different methods, and as a designer this should be paid attention to as well. For example, while some people were able to produce great ideas with the provocation cards, others were better off without them.
