Reflection 7

Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the objects I have chosen in this exercise is a pair of chopsticks which I am quite familiar with.  The initial idea I came up with is using chopsticks as hairpin which a long device used to hold a person’s hair in place. It may be used simply to secure long hair out of the way for convenience or as part of an elaborate hairstyle or coiffure.

 

 

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

I have used the cling wraps wrapped the whole chopsticks. I found it is really hard to control because it is uncomfortable when grasp chopsticks.However, I think it is easy to pick up things because of the rough surface on the top of chopsticks.  In addition, I have pretend I have hand disability that hand muscles are paralysis sometime. It is extremely hard to performing this task when having a hand functions disability. It brings more feedbacks in terms of various range of uses. it would be helpful to improve the design more user friendly.

