1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

As an evaluator, I observed Ruoxi and Joy’s physical behavior when they interacted with officework.com. I got so much feedback from their facial expression, operation steps, body language and intuitive comments. During the observation, I found users usually felt confused about how to proceed by the unclear web navigations and names.

As a user, my habitual behavior pattern had a great influence on the way I interacted with the website of USYD Library throughout the process, that is, the operation sequences were intuitive. USYD Library’s website was too difficult to use, because I couldn’t find what I want from complex database. The task ended up with I giving up find “Architecture, design and planning” within databased, but I found when I directly opened Google Scholar, I could complete the final step of the task and find “Cultural probes” in it.

 

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

As an evaluator, I felt that it was very difficult for me to not tell users how to get the intended result in the correct way. The designs of search box and filter on the officework.com worked very well during the test, because users could easily recognize them and use them.

As a user, I really felt panic when I could not complete my task. Complex interactive method and intricate links used in the website of USYD made me frustrated.

