Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

I bring a sponge from my kitchen for this exercise, initially, it should be used to clean the dishes. However, during the discussion within my group, I found this sponge can also be used as an exfoliator for the feet. After wrapping it with cling wrap, the surface of the object became smooth, both affordances I mentioned before became disabled. Yet, I discover because the object is a sponge, one of the main feature of the sponge is how light it can be while it’s dry and the cling wrap basically makes it waterproof. Therefore I believe this sponge can be used as a floating tray to put small objects on it while bathing.

2)  Given that affordances are a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

During the exercise, I tried to use the touchscreen while wearing a glove, I find I was still able to use it, just not as easy as without the glove. Which reminded me how uncomfortable users will feel while they have to take off their gloves during the cold winter. As a designer, I find that we have to think things from the different perspective and discover the different affordances the object might have thoroughly.

