1. Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the objects I selected in this exercise is a pair of rubber gloves. My initial understanding toward the gloves is protecting my hands from oil, dust and cleaner when I clean up. During the discussion, we found the gloves usually make sponge or soap out of from hand, and we cut sponge into many pieces and stick them on the five fingers of the gloves. Therefore, the glove can be used as a clean tool which protecting hands from blots.

 

  1. Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

I wore the glove and tried to use it during the exercise. I found that it worked, but sponges were easily torn. As a designer, I realized that it would be ok without trying several times and thinking from different perspectives.

