Comment on how you experienced the technique as both user and evaluator…

As the user it was a weird experience, I felt like a bit of a lab rat. I generally am quick to click through sites and if I can’t find what I am looking for I will click in and out pretty , I think I can pretty quickly determine whether I am getting the information I need. The site I used when I was the user was frustrating, it was a messy site and therefore I felt I looked a bit dumb because I couldn’t get what I needed quickly, it took me a long time. I like to think of myself as a proficient internet user, this exercise made me question my abilities.

The System Usability scale was a good refection of my interaction with the site (as user). The data from this scale could easily be compiled into a report and used to reassess a sites strengths and weaknesses.

As evaluator, I found that the user observation was ideal. It was much easier to tick boxes and keep a tally of how the user was interacting with the site.

The think aloud was also beneficial, but as I was scrambling to write I’m sure I may have missed things or the user mightn’t have fully communicated what they were doing.

1. kind of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype/product?

I found that across all sites tested there were a lot of assumptions made about the user. When I was a user and I was trying to purchase a product and have it picked up from a location the site kept on assuming I was in a different location. Another site also grouped categories together in a strange way so it was hard for the user to find the correct information they needed because of incorrect categorising/cataloguing.

2. What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

I think overall the exercise worked well. I think if a video recording component was introduced you could get richer data. As previously mentioned the think aloud evaluating was difficult in certain points because it was hard to record the user’s processes in real time. We also didn’t have enough of the worksheets to complete so had to improvise.

 

