For each of the 2 techniques (user observation, think- aloud):

  1. What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

Firstly, as an observer I find I can be more objective in terms of analysing the situation meanwhile, I was able to observer the emotion that the user is experiencing while they were using the websites. On the other hand, by doing think-aloud, I feel like I was able to share the empathy with other, see the problem in a different angle.

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

As an observer, I find it is much easier to analyse the user reaction while using the corresponding data collection forms, however sometimes it might be hard for the observer to understand every facial expression user had. As for think-aloud, this technique force the user to think and express feelings while using the website however some people might find they don’t use to talk aloud while working, they might find themselves hard to concentrate meanwhile more easy to get impatient.

