Reflect on your experience of conducting and participating in usability evaluation, by answering the following questions:

Comment on how you experienced the technique as both user and evaluator …

For each of the 2 techniques (user observation, think aloud):

1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

During the whole process of user evaluation, I acted as 2 different roles. When I was a user, I just followed to complete the tasks with think aloud method. However, during the process, I speaked what I think in my mind and I found I usually did the actions that I was used to do. Therefore, I found it is very significant to design something followed the user habits.

As a evaluator, I experienced with the different methods for observation which let me to observe the user’s expressions and body languages. According to the process of the observation, I could find the preferences and satisfactions for users on the design. It could also help to discover the issues.

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

About think aloud, it is difficult for users to speak aloud with what they actually think. Because most people are not used to speak when they are doing or operating something. You have to remind them to tell us what they are thinking.

About Observation, it is a very good technique but it has to be recorded because it is hard to remember all small and quite movements.

 

