1. Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

The object I chose from bathroom was a container for contact lenses. It is a flat plastic case in green and white color with “L” and “R” letters. My initial understanding just to storage and preservation my soft contact lenses. In this exercise, it could be a container of travel size makeup. I think that is really a good idea, and I will try this in my next travel. Furthermore, my friend thought it can be seen as a color box for painting. Contact lenses case is easy to carry, so it can be used to contain something else besides contact lenses.

  1. Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

In tutorial, my partner wore the plastic gloves to touch iPhone. It works, but not as sensitive as before. In reality, for example, it is possible that a cleaner want to answer the phone when he do cleaning with plastic gloves. Thus, through this process, I realized that there are lots of possibilities of interaction of users with one specific product. As a designer, I should not only design the affordances from the normal perspectives, but also consider the other specific situations.

