1.Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

I brought my toothpaste, vacuum cup and my spoon to the class. I chose my soup spoon as an example to present my view. Like all people,  I just use the spoon to eat soup or rice when I have a meal. Actually, I had no idea about how to use the spoon to do other things until I stared at my toothpaste for a long time. It suddenly occurred to me that every time I had to put the tail of toothpaste into the mouth side, because there was not much left in my toothpaste. And I found that I can use the spoon handle to roll the toothpaste up from the tail to the head, as shown in the figure. I was so excited that the spoon could be used in other purposes after seeing it from a different angle, which learned in this course.

 

2.Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

It is important for designer to know that the manipulation of the object and the abilities of people maybe make new purpose possible. At this tutorial, I tried to use chopsticks without my thumbs, it was hard time for me. I could not pinch anything by using the chopsticks in this way. It suddenly made me realize that many people might really be in such a situation everyday. This exercise inspired me a lot, changing the angle of some things with affordances to consider and design become more important for a designer in some special situations.

