Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

Coffee pod – a small cylindrical capsule used to store ground coffee; drop the capsule in an Nespresso machine and a couple minutes later you’ll have an espresso shot/energy. As I played around with the coffee pod I discovered it made a colourful paper weight; with a little imagination I realised that if I poked holes in the pod it could be used as a salt shaker. Beyond altering the coffee pod I fused my now salt shaker with my dental floss to create a necklace (I would attach a picture, but there is no available space).

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

The experimenting process demonstrates how quickly you can integrate and pivot during the design/prototyping of a solution, as shown by my coffee pod transforming into a salt shaker and eventually crafted into a necklace. I think the manipulating process varies depending on the user testing the product. It isn’t until you get the prototype in the hands of the user that you truly get to test whether the affordances you designed for are recognised, or whether hidden affordances based on undiscovered user needs emerge. That’s what makes UX/UI design interesting “what will the user do?” e.g. my necklace.

