1) Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

The object I chose from my bathroom was an instrument for face cleaning. At the start, I thought it was only for cleaning, for example, I can use it to wash cups or bowls in kitchen. In the process of thinking and learning, I had an idea that I can change the brush head to a spoon. The combination of the instrument and the spoon can be a electric whisk! Thinking from different perspectives are useful to find new affordances of an object.

2) Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

The manipulation of an object and a person’s abilities can change the affordances of the object. For example, in the kitchen, the instrument for face cleaning can be a whisk. How an object can be used depends on how people use it and what the environment is. Also, my partner closed his eyes and used his cup. It was harder to find the cup and drink with it. Therefore, the design should suit the users’ abilities and needs and offer the best user experience for them.

There is still no enough space, so I cannot post the pictures.

