Reflect on your experience of conducting and participating in usability evaluation, by answering the following questions:

Comment on how you experienced the technique as both user and evaluator …

When I played a role of a user, I could only focus on the tasks that I was interested in. Even thought the prototype I was trying was the familiar one to me, however, it started to defamiliarise and focused on how I passed through the flow.

As an evaluator, it was very interesting to see the user’s face expressions. I realised that I could guess and gain lots of other aesthetic information from their physical reaction while they tried to use the prototype.

For each of the 2 techniques (user observation, think- aloud):

1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

The usability evaluation allowed me to discover a number of things I have not realised when I designed. Through this evaluation, I found that user might have totally different behavioural patterns, which the designer might have not imagined. From this experience, I could learn designing based on only a designer’s assumption would cause some problems without any observing user’s actual experience and behavioural patterns.

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

Observing user’s face expression was really helpful to realise how they felt about the process of using the prototype. Once I noticed that they were struggling, I tried to find what task they are trying to do, and what makes them be frustrated. However, Due to the fact that I needed to record every information I got at the same time, I sometimes missed the user’s flow and the timing to write it down.  Therefore, I thought that it would be better to be more than one observer for gathering information more effectively.

