• Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

I brought my Swiss health tablets, blusher and earphones at yesterday’s tutorial. And I am going to choose blusher to answer this question. At first, I  have completely no idea how it can be used except of a blusher. But my partner uses it as a brush and says it could be used as a tool when she is drawing. I find it is intresting so I start to viewing my blusher from different angels, looking for other usage purposes. For example,  it can be used as a container to store my little stuffs like my earings, rings and etc. If dye it with different colors at the top, it could be an amazing decoration as well. Also, after I wrap it with cling, its soft bristles become a small broom.

  • Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

The affordances of a product is not limited with the designer’s initial design plan. In different people’s eyes, a same product could have different ways of using. And depends on different people’s interpretation and  capacity, the affordances are not the same accordingly.  Thus, as a designer, I might try to develop as much possibilities as possible by inviting different types of users to test my products. Besides, I might combine it with other materials to create new affordances. Just as my blusher, if I keep using it as usual, then I will never get the chance to know that it actually could be used for other purposes. Also, asking other people to use my blusher helps me to explore it from a different perspective.

-Linmin Liang SID: 460250234

Linmin Liang 460250234 Tutorial 09

