1.Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the objects that I selected is the rice spoon. My initial understanding of the affordances of a rice spoon is to dish up rice. After the course of the exercise, I used plastic wrap to change its appearance, and I think it can be used to electrostatic eliminating for clothes and hair.

微信图片_20170517151515

2.Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

Manipulation of a toothpaste without thumbs is really hard, I used sticky tape to stick two chopsticks on my two fingers, and then I used these two chopsticks as my fingers to use toothpaste. I found out that it was also really difficult to use. After this exercise, I think it did inspire me. I was wondering if toothpaste can be designed as a new kind of toothpaste which do not need to be squeezed. To sum up, I think we could come up some special ideas through some unlimited test and experiment, it’s good for a designer to think unrestrainedly.

微信图片_20170517151521

