Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the objects that I selected was a electronic eyelash curler,before this exercise,I thought eyelash curler is just useful curl your eyelashes. After the exercise,I found this eyelashes curler also could be used to be a clip – pick something up and heat the whole thing.

 

2032214376.jpg

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

I was desperate for fresh ideas.After I noticed the  electronic eyelash curler could pick something up, and then I tried to use  it lashed to my phone with other ideas.A couple of interesting things that came out of my consistently attempt:

  • electronic eyelash curler could be a phone bracket
  • when we look at the phones, electronic eyelash curler could be a clip – if we need take any notes or something else.

This exercise give me lots of inspiration for how to work with affordances as a designer.Inspiration is important for a designer.The world around you can inspire you to be more creative.Also When you’re focused on external stimuli, you’re giving your mind some “breathing room” to come up with creative solutions.

“Experimentation is the key to creativity. “In addition,if a designer want  satisfy the users request should  view ideas or problems from different perspectives. Only then could really meet the customer expectations.

 

605403383.jpg1204633114.jpg

 

