1.Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the objects that I interacted with was a television remote. At first, I just took it normally, handle it okay with one hand and press the buttons. However, while thinking out of the box and trying to interact with it differently, I could realize about a couple of false affordances, like certain parts which looked like buttons but weren’t. One takes for granted everyday objects and the interaction we have with them, but if we look closely new ideas and issues can be discovered.

2.Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

I manipulated a few objects putting some aluminion foil as a wrap or taping them. One of them was a small box, which I tapped, so the use of it was altered. Instead of putting things inside it was only valid to serve as a small “table” or support. Another was the remote which I interacted with while I had my hands tied with tape reducing their ability almost completely. I could do something with my fingers but that was it. That is when I started thinking about what could it be changed to the design to fit my needs and other disabled people. Perhaps I couldnt find the answer but that is when I started thinking about all the other things there, small, simple things that are not so simple for people with disabilities.

 

