Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the item that I have chosen is the drink bottle. Over the execerise I find that i can smash things with the bottle (because it is so hard), store things other than water in it.

 

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

I manipluated my drink bottle with two hand holders on the right and left side. My partner was managed to lift the bottle up with two chopsticks poking through the handles holdes that I have designed.This kind of interaction was unintentional, and I didnt know that could occur.

Through this execerise I found that user would normally have interesting interaction with an object. These kind of interaction occured out of the scope of the designer’s intial design intentions. I believed this is the most interesting part of user testing, it allows the designer too see how their design functions from another perspective.

 

PS: I could not upload photos due to file space limitation

 

