Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

One of the objects I selected was a pencil. I discovered that it not only provided the affordance of drawing, but you could poke things with it, scratch things with it, tap and make noises with it.

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

I manipulated my fingers by taping them together and trying to use the pencil. At first I felt like I could no longer use the pencil but it made me come up with more creative ways to achieve movements like drawing, poking, tapping and making noises with it. For example, I could clutch the pencil between my 3rd and 4th finger, which changed the movement of the pencil when making those movements.

