1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

User observation:

– 1: While observing the user (Danny and Jose) I was able to determine their pain points via non verbal behaviour. It became very obvious that the USYD library UI was incredibly overwhelming to anyone unfamiliar with it (incredibly steep learning curve). I observed frustration *head scratching, grimacing, and verbal “XXXX this site…” behaviour. Upon reviewing the video footage I was able to determine the points which gave the users most grief in the ‘search’ process.

– 2: Observing exactly how, particularly the USYD library UI gave the user grief was helpful to the iterative HCD process; but I also found prompting the user to ‘think-aloud’ very disruptive as it interrupted the users problem solving approach.

Think-aloud:

– 1: While thinking-aloud I was able to step the observers (Danny and Jose) through my problem solving process, I highlighted the inefficiencies of the Office Max site. The opposite held true while interacting with the USYD library UI, I couldn’t efficiently perform the task and cognitive overload disrupted my problem solving process; if users experience this level of frustration you need to rethink the entire design experience.

– 2: While completing the task I was very focused and needed to be reminded to ‘think-aloud’, although my non verbal behaviour was obvious.

I’m looking forward to adapting a user persona and testing the Assignment 2 prototypes using these techniques.

– Travis

