Topic: Evaluation

Comment on how you experienced the technique as both user and evaluator …

Method: User observation

As an observer, it was challenging as sometimes the facial expression of users don’t really indicate exactly their feeling. Their face might look similar although they feel annoyed or confused.

1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

I think the number of questions user have indicated how confusing or complex the interface of website is. Other signs are their facial expression and body gesture as they show how uncomfortable or unfamiliar they were with the interface, and they tried to understand the new interface. When they failed to do so, they asked questions. So questions are equivalent to unresolved problems they had when using the interfaces.

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

The form to fill in information when observing is quite long so it took time to do it without missing important moments of the users.

As an user, I felt a bit weird when some one was looking at me when I used the website. That might affect my behavior.

Method: Think-aloud

As an user, I have to say out what I was thinking, feeling and doing so it made me more focused. If I didn’t have to do that, I would have been quite free in discovering the website more. Sometimes, the users might not know why they are doing certain things such as aimlessly browsing shopping sites.

1) What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

The feeling and thoughts user told me are all important. What I find most important is when they said they are doing something and explained why they are doing that. The users were sometimes inconsistent. I guess they were confused also.

2) What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

I think this technique works well for most of the time. But when people think-aloud, they are more focused and want to look like a reasonable person. I think when they use the website alone, they might behave differently. I think being aware of someone’s presence have an impact on people’s behaviors.

Documents of the session can be found here.

