Question 1 

How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

The extreme user group can reveal the some common problem more clear. And when comparing two different ends of extreme user, I will be able to define what they share in common then enable me to appeal to the general market.

I found an interesting video about extreme user.

 

For ideation process, extreme user can help me come up with a more solid idea and make me more focus on the problem. For example trekkles make my group have a clear vision of needs, motivations and expectations of user. So the idea become very concrete and solid.

Question 2

Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

Each of us did a quick brainstorming and write it down on post-it. We discuss our idea together and try to combine similar ones. Post-it is effectively a way to communicate idea with other group member. Also discussion is important, when collaborating with others, I can refine and validate my idea.

The storyboard make us focus on the future scenario. At the same time it can reveal some hidden problems. Quickly sketching the idea on paper can bring everyone on the same page.

WechatIMG7

 

