1) Briefly, reflect on the lessons learned from each exercise

a. Reflective listening

I enjoy the process of both talking and listening. As a listener, the most important thing is to show my empathy and respect to the speaker. I shouldn’t challenge or judge what they said. I need to pay close attention to their story and try to discover more by asking additional questions. Also, I shouldn’t ask leading question. I need the real scenario from them and try to define the motivation and frustration behind the scene.

b. Defamiliarization of everyday reality

This video really helps me to be there and try to understand how people feel when waiting for trains or buses. Basically, I catch the train nearly everyday but I seldom observe people around me. The observation is effectively a tool to help designer to understand users’ behavior and patterns. I should do that for my assignment as well.

c. Empathic modelling

At the beginning, I didn’t understand the purpose of doing that. But finally I know it is more like a body storming. I can actually know how eye-disables feel once I put on the glass. it is a great way to empathize with user.

 

2) Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

Once put on the glass I have experience a totally different world. Everything become so blurry and I need to re-think how to walk and react to the environment. It is a great way to understand the user.

3) Include a scanned copy of your defamiliarisation forms (public transport)

 

