1) How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

I think by taking the position of an extreme user helps our thinking in relation to the design challenge. Extreme user provides a more realistic environment for thinking the possibility of the product. By involve into the extreme user character, I found out it’s easier to generate ideas and feel empathy to the user. It’s a new method for me to work to user’s needs. However, extreme user often requires specific needs that do may not be same as the general public. As such, I think creating more extreme user may improve this issue.

2) Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

The design provocation cards did help me to fill up my extreme user’s information, such as occupation, personality. I think these cards can help us in the beginning stage of creating an extreme user.
Storyboards is also another very helpful tool to use when I work through my ideas. As I try to draw my future payphone on the storyboards, I found out I constantly check and change the detail of the payphone. Because it’s visually represent in front me, I’m paying more attention to the detail of the product, such as the size of the speaker, where should it be located.

