1) Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

Reflective listening

We switched roles as a speaker and listener in this exercise. Although I enjoyed my speaker’ s stories, it’s hard to me to say anything throughout the whole process. At some points, I could not help wanting to share my similar experience with my speaker. Similarly, I found that just talking alone without any conversation and respond would be a little bit awkward as an interviewer, especially for those who are very shy.

Defamiliarisation of everyday reality.

Actually,I am in these train and bus surroundings everyday, but I have not never noticed these things before until I did this exercise. It is undeniable that observing users’ reflection and experience is a good way to understand and take these feelings of users into account as a spectator in these states. It also reminds us that we need to pay more attention to the things around us at the same time.

Empathic modelling

In this activity, we took lots of blurred pictures and walked back and forth in the lobby by wrapping the camera and sunglasses with cling wrap. Everything was vague shape even in a very near place. I truly understood and felt the feelings of those people who have vision impairment or in need of help in the dark environment. It made me understand how important it is to take these groups into account when designing some products.

 

2) Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

WechatIMG1066

3) Include a scanned copy of your defamiliarisation forms (public transport) Post your reflection to the blog and add category “Blog Reflection”

WechatIMG228

