1) Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise:

a. Reflective listening:
While I was listening, I was trying to imagine, and follow the context of, what the speaker explained. It was very meaningful to try to give some reflective questions to the speaker, as it allowed me to have an opportunity to make the context clear and empathise more with the speaker. Furthermore, as a speaker, reflective listening led me to immerse myself more deeply in my own speeches, such as in situations that I was explaining, to enhance the interaction between the speaker and the listener.

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality:
Although waiting for a train at the Circular Quay station is already a very familiar experience to me, it felt interestingly unusual and unfamiliar when watching it through the video. This exercise impressed upon me the need to recognise the importance of standing back while observing the context, since it allows us to have an objective perspective.

c. Empathetic modelling:
This exercise reminded me of an exhibition I have seen, ‘Dialogue in the Dark’, which was one of the most unforgettable experiences I have had. In the exhibition, all of the audience entered a dark room with no light, but still felt and experienced the whole exhibition. With the wrapping glasses, it was literally impossible to see anything clearly, leading me to empathise with the experience while having reduced sight effectively. Moreover, it was a totally different experience than what I had imagined it would be. Throughout the exercise, I could realise the gap between the imagination of what we believe that we empathise, and the reality.

2) Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

3) Include a scanned copy of your defamiliarisation forms (public transport)

