1. Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

a. Reflective listening: It is important to objectively listen to the speaker without pre-conceived ideas or trying to get the conversation somewhere or trying to guess where it´s going, but rather just letting it happen and actively listen, nod or give non-intrusive signs that you are paying attention.

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality: I was aware of the things I would usually be thinking at the back of my head when I´m in those situations and I´m not realising it, but at the same time, I also got to think and see things that I normally wouldn´t have because I had the mental time to do so, and it was not part of a daily routine or an automatised, functional activity as it usually would be.

c. Empathic modeling: You pay more attention to details -or even broader concepts- that were not important before you were in that position (sight impairment), you realise what´s important or impactful for the person that has that condition.

 

