How did taking the position of an extreme user influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

This exercise forced me to think in a way I don’t generally and made me consider things I otherwise wouldn’t have. It lead me to create scenarios I usually wouldn’t have considered. Usually when designing I’m thinking about issues faced by the “average person” and this activity highlighted how some people’s needs vary greatly from what the average persons would be. It was also fairly entertaining, more so than creating a persona would normally would be.

 

Did any of other design thinking techniques help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

The use of storyboards made it easy to visualize my ideas and better understand the nuances of how the persona would interact with the designs I created. Storyboards also helped me better communicate my designs with my group as it helps them visualize my design so they could comment and provide feedback on it. Similarly, sharing the stories with the group was fun as they were all relatively wacky and the stories were also useful in helping group members understand the problems faced by the user and how the design might help solve them.

