Q1. How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

The practice of taking the position of an Extreme User is a good way for opening my mind and overcoming the limitation of my thinking. In general, I still focus on users’ need to get ideas, but with common or subjective thinking. However, for Extreme User, they have special needs and obvious requirement, so it helps to get effective and targeted ideas rather than some common ideas. In other words, design for Extreme User makes me putting myself in user’s angle totally.

Q2. Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

Storyboard as the design thinking technique really helps to display my idea visually. Compare with text and narration, storyboard is more direct and visual to show the location, characters’ behavior and interaction. Using storyboard in group work is also effective, because group members will understand my idea deeply with a complete story sketches.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

IMG_3962.JPG

