llia5138-ID 460250234

  1. How did taking the position of an extreme user influence your thinking relation to design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

Although it is a new experience and I think it is fun, it strictly constraints my thinking and force me to consider the design program only from the extreme user’s perspective. It is quite different from my usual way to generate ideas and empathy. I usually try to come up a solution that could fit a broad range of people’s needs instead of one extreme person’s. But this case enables me to consider more in details and design a more targeted technology that specifically meets user’s needs. All in all, it is another useful approach for me to think about the user needs.

  1. Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

The stories and storyboards are quite useful in helping me to work through ideas and collaborate with my group member. Via these two techniques, our group members greatly understand the quality of the extreme character. These techniques enable us to depict a detailed and vivid picture of the character which evoke our empathy in a great extent.What’s more, storyboard provides a context for our problems and solutions. We predict how the new tech we designed might work in reality in the future. When other people see our storyboard they could easily understand our design from an interesting perspective.460250234-tutorial 05.jpeg

 

 

