1) How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

Taking the position of an extreme user allowed me to step outside of my own attitudes and values and consider a very different set of preferences. Usually, when I am generating ideas, I think first of what would be appealing to me and judge the idea based on that – I think this is only natural. But an extreme user has very specific requirements, and in this way constraints may inspire greater creativity.

2) Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

Coming up with ideas together as a group was somewhat challenging, as the story totally veered away from my original conception. I thought, however, that everyone had some very unique and interesting ideas. It was fun to discuss as a group, but we quickly left behind a sense of reality or utility to ground the creative process. It was difficult to come up with specific details of a story for an extreme user without a bit of research. Drawing the storyboard was also a challenge but once complete is an effective way to get the story across quickly and easily.

