a. Reflective listening – It is difficult to know sometimes when to interrupt or when to allow the speaker to continue. It is easier to talk about yourself than know what questions to ask of the speaker next – you don’t know whether to keep pressing a particular issue or move onto the next. Also, it was hard to stay following the directions of the activity and not just ‘chat’ as I normally would. In this way, it taught we to use some restraint and to listen really carefully.

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality – It was interesting to compare a second-hand perception of an everyday activity with your familiar mental model of that activity. When you don’t control what to look at, and your view is framed by another’s recording device, your focus is narrowed. Tiny details are more easily noticed. And it definitely provoked lots of memories of stages of my life where I’ve had a similar experience.

c. Empathic modelling – Wearing cling-wrap over glasses certainly made it near impossible to see. I think I used a bit too much. The only things that caught my attention were the lights, as they were the only things I could see really. And they weren’t that interesting. But its definitely scary being blind.

 

