Blog reflection 5

1) How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

It was different to how I usually approach a problem. Usually, I envisage a solution to fit a broader range of people which meets their needs on some sort of mediatory level. In this extreme user case, I set out to solve the problem with the mindset that I wanted to create the best possible solution catered directly for the explicit needs and frustrations of my user. I was able to target the product so specifically. However, it may have not been a suitable product for anyone apart from my user because it was so explicitly tailored. Overall, it was an interesting exercise in considering alternate ways to approach a design solution.

2) Did any of the other design thinking techniques help you work through ideas and collaborate with your group members? 

Storyboarding was a very helpful technique because it easily allows you to see how your solution would be used in the context of a problem. Providing a context helps to solidify how a product could work in reality. It was also a very helpful tool when communicating ideas amongst our group.

