1.How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

Taking the position of an Extreme User helps me thinking from a different angle, puts my foot in his shoes and designs for meeting his demands. There’s definitely a lot of challenges such as making connection between his features and the design products as well as trying to imagine myself being in his position. It is totally different to how I usually generate ideas because his behaviors are not like ordinary people and I have to spend extra time on designing to meet his needs.

376383126

2.Did any of the other design thinking techniques(design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

Yes. I have been getting used to use these design thinking techniques, and there is a whole series of steps for me to use. Firstly, I will create a persona and try to put myself in his shoes to gain a new sight of the design problem; And then, I’d like to write scenarios to make a little enrichment to the persona’s life experience; Finally I will draw a storyboard to visualize the whole story and form a comprehensive understanding of the design. In this process, collaborating with my group members is very fun because through brainstorming , I can find more interesting ideas that others generate, and it is really helpful.

1218648701

153203129

