1) How did taking the position of an Extreme User influence your thinking in relation to the design challenge? Was it different to how you usually generate ideas and empathy?

Extreme User have a personality with characteristics belonging to near end of spectrum. They have certain strong needs that need special consideration in the design solution. It also require the solution to be very focused on them, which I think is challenging considering the design solution is for other types of user also. However, my design solution was solely for the Extreme User so I will think about How would more people benefit from using this product. The methods of building character profile and stories, storyboard are very similar to how I usually generate ideas and empathy.

2) Did any of the other design thinking techniques (design provocation cards, stories, storyboards, etc.) help you to work through ideas and collaborate with your group members?

Building character profile, stories, and storyboard are all helpful in creating an image of user in our mind, helping us feel more connected with a specific person you might know in our life. Although, I find the character profile quite similar to some character I know in books, movies, I still find the method helpful. It depends on how people use the method to visualize the person. The more real, the more empathy we can have. I think a fictional character will be irrelevant in understanding the Extreme User. It would be better to know some one with that personality.

Documents can be found here.

