Reflective listening

First of all, concentration is the vital part of this activities.  Considering the respect to the speaker, it is important to make eye contact and do not judge what speaker are saying when being a reflective listener. Speaker will find you are paying attention to what they say if make eye contact. If there is a pause of speaking, listener could try to paraphrase speaker’s opinion, comments or feelings by using their own words or some sentence such as “so are you trying to say…, you mean …”.  Although sometimes listener may misunderstand speaker’s thoughts, but this is how the talk could keep going.

 

Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

It is necessary to imagine that you are the person who are in this specific scenario, which generate feelings same as the person in the video. I’ve noticed that some thoughts are based on our own experience of similar situation in the past when you are trying to get involved in this activity. It sometimes reminds me what I’ve been through. I would say that it is also helpful to build the empathy of other people.I was trying to catch all the details of the video, but most of what I focused on are mostly based on seeing and listening such as the train, station broadcast and people who were passing by. The feeling part was ignored, which is also the important part of this activity.

 

Empathic modelling

What I was seeing through the glasses wrapped by cling wrap seems like the sight when I take off my optical glasses. It is hard to identify the words, and colors and lights are changed to fuzzy.

