Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

a. Reflective listening

In the exercise, it is not easy to be both listener and speaker, and it is really important that friendly atmosphere is built between listener and speaker.

As a listener, I have no idea who the speaker is and what her background is, so I have to listen carefully her experience and ask many open questions to know her views are.

As a speaker, I try to share my personal story as clear as I could, because the last thing I want to do is making the listener feel confused about my nagging.

 

b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

The videos of public transport in Sydney really makes me uncomfortable, and I am constantly worried what I could do if there is a blind person falling into the train track. The other video in bus is too shaky, and I feel the bus environment is not comfortable enough. However, I never have the feelings when I take a ride in public transportation, so it gives me a different angle to think about public transport in Sydney.

IMG_2685

c. Empathic modelling

When I wear glasses covered cling wrap, I feel I walk in a heavy fog and everything familiar becomes something fuzzy unfamiliar.

IMG_2601

