1. Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise

Reflective listening

The reflective listening exercise allowed me to really think about what my speaker was talking about. Because I could only really probe based on what the speaker was talking about I firstly felt myself listening more and secondly felt restricted because I wanted to have a conversation about my experiences too. I believe this exercise made it really clear to me that when you speak, the words you use and the questions you ask need to be curated the right way to show that you are truly reflective on the subject and if you get tempted to speak about your own experiences you may not get the additional content that you are actually searching for.

As a speaker, my listener was really just listening to me – this made me talk so much more and expand on things I was saying. I am naturally a talker, but the feeling of me as the subject made me open up much more knowing that someone wasn’t just waiting their turn to speak.

Defamiliarisation of everyday reality

This exercise made me so much more aware of something as simple as a train station or bus ride. I am so familiar with those surroundings, but just by writing as I observe I noticed so many new things that I had never really paid attention to before. This has actually opened up my eyes in my own job because I am so familiar – it would be great to just step back and observe in this way.

Empathic modelling

This exercise allowed me to put myself in the shoes of someone with a disability and made me so aware of how much we rely on shapes, sound and colour to identify common objects. I felt that items that were usually obvious or prominent faded in my vision and other items that are usually not so obvious were more prominent – such as light and warning signs in bright yellow or red.

2. Complement your reflections with photographs of the process

3. Include a scanned copy of your defamiliarisation forms (public transport)

IMG_4484 IMG_9947

