1) Briefly reflect on the lessons learnt from each exercise a. Reflective listening b. Defamiliarisation of everyday reality c. Empathic modelling
a. I’m definitely a better listener than speaker! I tend to ramble when speaking, because my mind tends to unravel along multiple paths, instead of a clear, linear pathway. My challenge in being an active listener is to ask questions smoothly, instead of joltingly: I’ve learned that I should think the entire question through before asking it.
Cues such as “tell me more,” or give-and-take cues such as “I see what you’re saying. I also think that ____. What do you think?” can also help prompt more thoughts.
b. Sometimes we really need the physical limitations in order to be able to understand other types of embodiment. I thought I could “imagine” what it was like to wear the cling-wrap glasses, but when I actually had the firsthand experience, I found that there were experiences I could not anticipate, such as the enhanced sensitivity to light.
c. It was hard to “get into” the video. My partner and I both wanted to write-without-thinking while watching the video, instead of after watching the video. It was hard to immerse myself in the environments of public transport just by watching the video. That said, I found it interesting to consider the areas of physical sensation. I realize that my hands “feel” a lot when I’m in the bus or the train. And that’s because I’m conscious of the many other hands that have touched the same surfaces..

