1. How is this sketchnoting technique different to the traditional note taking?

For me, sketchnoting needs drawing skills and creativity. I can express my ideas by both words and drawings. The notes are attractive and creative. On the other hand, unlike traditional note’s step-by-step structure, the skechnotings are tree-like divergences, which inspire me a lot and reflect my thoughts and ideas very clearly.

2. How does this visual approach facilitate communication of your ideas? Conversely, how does it prevent it?

Sketchnoting makes the idea recording fun. Sometimes it is hard to describe a complex idea, but when I paint it I feel the task is interesting and easier. At the same time, it helps me separating my ideas into some parts and having a brain storm, which is a good way to dig much thoughts and details of the ideas.

However, I am still used to record my ideas using traditional notes and not good at drawing, so I need much time to design the paintings and arrange the whole page to make it look good. In this way, I may focus too much on painting and lose some ideas.

3. Personal challenges as a sketchnoter.

My biggest challenge is painting. I never learned drawing, so sometimes I need a lot of time to sketch a person or a plan, but the paintings are very different from what I think. Therefore, I need to improve my skills and do it better.

IMG_3751IMG_3752IMG_3753

