How is this sketchnoting technique different to the traditional note taking?

Traditional note taking while listening involves responding, recording and reviewing, it structures the information by using words, abbreviations, and simple symbols. It is time-saving, but easy to miss or misunderstand. On the other hand, sketchnoting depends critically on the imagination and creativity. It is a defining characteristic of sketchnoting. Imagining a picture, a scene, a storyboard can visualize key information, improve the accuracy of memories. Although time-consuming, it is more creative and challenging to present the information by using simple lines and shapes.

How does this visual approach facilitate communication of your ideas? Conversely, how does it prevent it?

This visual approach simplifies the complex information and improves the accuracy of memories. Personally, using the simple symbols and connectors can make my notes more clear and logic. I can compose my notes in my personal style, which is easier for me to remember the content and details. I may miss some key words and confuse different concepts sometimes, but sketchnoting is a good way to deal with this problem.

Personal challenges as a sketchnoter.

The challenge is focusing effectively on main points within a short time. I am not good at sketching, but I can utilise its basic skills. So I need to improve my sketching constantly, combining listening carefully, thinking comprehensively and imagining creatively.

