How is this sketchnoting technique different to the traditional note taking?

Traditional note taking and sketchnoting involve listening, interpreting, and paraphrasing information, but unlike traditional note taking, sketchnoting uses a combination of visuals and text. While traditional note taking structures information using headings, subheadings, and bullet points, sketchnoting uses an adaptive grid, radial, or freeform layout. There are advantages to disadvantages to both methods, but the major difference I’ve encountered is the creativity afforded by sketchnoting, whereas traditional note taking is more logical and structured.

How does this visual approach facilitate communication of your ideas? Conversely, how does it prevent it?

Sketchnoting adds depth (visuals create neurological pathways) to how we communicate ideas the combination of visuals and text are showcased in an engaging ‘easy to understand format’. However, to be an effective sketchnoter you must listen, interpret, and sketch ideas (can be complex) quickly. During the TED talk I asked myself “how do I sketch that?” and “does this make sense?” a lot. I found myself sketching less and paraphrasing information more. For a beginner sketchnoter, I don’t think information overload is uncommon, but it’s something to be aware of and prepare for i.e. work through the sketching exercises!

IMG_1026

Personal challenges as a sketchnoter?

– I was unable to (I believe) effectively communicate the key TED talk ideas through sketch due to my poor drawing ability.

– The fidelity of my sketches was low, but as you can see in my “Porridge 101” sketch I was able to effectively communicate the porridge recipe.

I need to work through the sketching exercises and improve the rate at which I interpret and sketch new information. Overall, sketchnoting was a fun experience and I look forward to practising and using it in the future.

– Travis

IMG_1024

