1.What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

Doing a task in a website while observing carefully gives you a hint on where are the usability problems, since every person is different it is important to see by testing others too. As a user, I was able to gain valuable insights and information based on my own experience by performing the task of booking tickets on Sydney Opera House’s website personally. It is difficult to start looking for the problems in a platform when you have no idea where are they. As an evaluator, watching the video would give the evaluators awareness of understanding weaknesses and strengths.

 

2. What aspect of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

I believe the frustrating part is understanding what is this technique for and what are you trying to achieve. I would treat think aloud important to me when encounter an issue. During the task, my evaluator tried to jot down my words/quotes and my verbal reactions to the task of using a website. Taking a video in reality is not as easy as thinking aloud technique, because during the usability test, users are going to feel very uncomfortable if someone records their videos. People get frustrated when they are taken photos or videos.

