Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise? 

I choose my pink-pattern umbrella as my object. At the initial understanding, I regard it as a beauty and can somehow get rid of wet when it is raining outside. During the class, inspired by my teammate who changed the marker into a spoon, I got an idea that I can change my umbrella into a beautifully decorated pink lamp. Since the shape of the umbrella is very similar to a trapezoidal cylindrical lamp, it will be easy to make the change if I can cut off all the umbrella stands. Due to its original function needed and high expenses to get new one, I gave up to change it into lamp. But undeniable, it is an good idea.


Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise. 

It changed a lot. Before knowing that, I regard it as its functions. The use of umbrella is to get rid of water and some other things like that. And then I regard it as a bridge between the person and the object can be seen apparently. Umbrellas, for example, the handle is an affordance to hold the umbrella. It gives me some hints. For example, the umbrella stands are no longer an affordance when I want to change it into a pink lamp, a new affordance is its handle, functions as the support frame for the whole lamp.

 

 

