1. Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

    In this tutorial, I chose my water bottle as the object.It is a bottle with a rope,which is designed for users to grasp the bottle when they can hardly spare a hand. During the observation, I noticed that the rope could be a ribbon to fix my hair when I forget to bring my ribbon with me. Moreover, when sometimes, I also have to hold keys in my hand, the rope can be a place to place the keys.

  2. Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

    When my hands were wrapped with cling wrap and tied together, I could hardly open the bottle. Since the cap of the bottle was designed uniquely, it need the co-orpeartion with both my thumb and my little finger. It suggested the ability of the user would have an influence on his/her interaction with the object. It occurred to me that a good designer should take all physical limitations into consideration. Just as the water bottle, it should also consider some special situation when users can hardly  spare their fingers but still would like to drink water.

img_0770

