Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

I selected a mini tube of toothpaste in class, and I took it from my bathroom. As a everyday household object, I use it with my electronic toothbrush in the morning and night everyday. When cleaning my teeth, I thought unscrewed the red cap and squeezed toothpaste out of the tube. Initially, I thought I always repeated this action everyday. In the activity, I cut the bottom of the tube and I squeezed toothpaste from there. So its affordance has been changed, and I fixed this tube of toothpaste on the toothpaste head. As a result, I thought the combination was so funny, but my partner and I found it may be easy for children to learn to clean their teeth because it did not need to squeeze toothpaste and its special angle was free.

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.For each of the 2 techniques (user observation, think- aloud):

Affordances are always obvious and certain between users’ abilities and objects. For example, people unscrew the cap of a bottle to drink water and open book to read. These affordances are different according to objects’ properties like appearance and users’ conventions. However, users also change the usage of affordances in practice. In my own case, I usually cut the bottom of a tube of toothpaste when it was running out of, because it is difficult to be squeezed all toothpaste. So I cut it and open the tube to make the best use of everything. But the method is inconvenient for me most of the time. Therefore, the exercise inspired me to rethink affordances which initially look like invariable. As a designer, I  believe that affordances are flexible connections between users and objects and their purpose is to complete tasks and improve usability.

IMG_4501.JPGIMG_4503.JPGIMG_4504.JPGFullSizeRender.jpg

 

 

 

 

