What kinds of information and insights did it give you about the usability of the prototype?

As the user…

I  tested the website of Officeworks to buy the cheapest tablet and choose to collect at Officeworks Glebe.  When I entered the website, I was just attractive by a lot of images and information. After a few seconds, I found where to search products. And then I changed the sort by Best Match to Price Low to High, but there were appearing a lot of cheap accessory kit. I scrolled through the page to find out the cheapest tablet. When choosing the site to collect the tablet, there was a clear map site so that I could quickly find out the Officeworks Glebe. I felt although there was an inaccurate searching result, the website was user-friendly and with a proper layout to be used.

As an evaluator…

I observed the task that book two tickets for “The Opera Gala on NewYear’s Eve” on the website of Sydney Opera House. I found it was a little difficult for my teammate. The page was very simple and there was not clear searching option, so she could not find out where to search the result. After entering the page of booking tickets, it was easier to look for the performance date and choose the seats. So, I thought the website did not provide those users who first use the website with a good experience.

 

 

What aspects of the technique worked well or were frustrating?

When acting a user to complete the task, I could think from a user’s perspective. I just followed my intuition and custom during the test. After testing, I could review my behaviours and emotions to find out the key findings. This process let me know well the work flow and user’s needs.On the other hand, through observing users’ reflections, I could capture the details and changes. I focused on the user’s facial expressions and physical behaviours , and I could get more actual user’s experience through analysing those collected information. However, other methods like interviews and questionnaires cannot see the user’s reflections directly. These reliable results will be very helpful in the future redesigning process. Although I completed the task quickly when acting a user, I did not operate according to certain work flow. I felt a little nervous when I kew there were others observing my behaviours. And as an evaluator, I was easily attractive by the result of user’s operation, so I did not write down enough detailed information in my data collecting form.

Think-aloud technique can provide more actual user’s thoughts and experience when the user was thinking about how to complete the task. Sometimes, the user can ask the questions or complain if there are happening something unexpected, which is valuable for our improving the prototype. However, users always random speak out their thoughts, so I could not write down them rapidly and accurately.

FullSizeRender 2.jpgIMG_4513.JPG       IMG_4511.JPG

