Choose one of the objects you selected and describe how your initial understanding of its affordances changed over the course of the exercise?

In this activity, I selected three objects which are comb, chopsticks in a box and tea cup. From those daily objects, I chose the comb to study its affordances. The comb is a relative big one, with many sticks on it to make hair smooth and relax  scalp. I put it on the table, discarded its existing features and regarded it as a new object that I have no idea about how to use it. After a quick observation, I noticed that the object could be turned back with the sticks back down. With its sticks, it could be used as a scratcher, in which we put it on the skin and use it to scratch. Moreover, the sticks also allow it to be used as a cleaning brush which shares the same principle with the scratcher.

Given that affordances is a relational property between a person and an object, how did the manipulation of the object and the person’s abilities inform your understanding of the concept? Did it give you inspiration or insight for how to work with affordances as a designer? Discuss this through the specific objects you explored in the exercise.

Objects may have some certain features, such as its texture and colors. However, how could these features be used in different situations depends on users’ abilities as well as the addressed features of a design product. For instance, chopsticks are designed in pairs for users to manipulate through one hand. By wearing the gloves as a user, my ability has changed. The frictions between my hands and the objects that I want to manipulate may be increased, which made it easier for me to manipulate chopsticks. This further inspired me that how about design something that could increase the frictions between chopsticks and hands to improve the usability of chopsticks. Learning to work with affordances will do a lot help for my future design projects.

